Is Running Away A Crime? Here’s Everything You Should Know

Minors who run away from home can be returned to their parents if they are found to be in danger. However, if a minor runs away and the parent or guardian does not return the child to the home, the minor may be charged as an adult for the crime of fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer.

A minor who flees from his or her home and is not found by the police within a reasonable time is guilty of a misdemeanor and may face a fine of up to $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or both. If the person is found at the scene of the offense, he or she is subject to arrest and prosecution as a juvenile for a violation of this section.

Do police look for runaways?

Police can always take runaways into custody even if a particular state doesn’t recognize running away as a status offense. Taking them to a shelter is one of the options police have.

If a child runs away from home, he or she will most likely be taken into protective custody by the local police department. If the child is under the age of 18, his or her parent or guardian will be responsible for taking care of him/her until he/she turns 18.

Is it illegal to run away in AZ?

Arizona, it is unlawful to leave home without the consent of your parents, or legal guardians. You can be charged with aiding and abetting the escape of a minor if you help you in running away or hiding. It is a misdemeanor to possess marijuana in Arizona. If you are caught with marijuana, you could face up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

What happens if you get found after running away?

Depending on the circumstances of the runaway, police officers that find the teen may detain him or her and take the individual to a shelter or a holding facility at the local department. Others may try to get the child placed with a family member or friend if they take the youth to a homeless shelter. The youth may also be taken to the police station for questioning.

If a runaway teen is not found within 24 hours of being reported missing, he or she will be considered a missing person.

How much money do you need to run away?

You’ll need at least $5,000 with you. $5,000 can disappear in no time at all, even though it sounds like a lot. It’s important that you don’t realize the morning after your escape that you can’t afford breakfast.

You will be glad you have a contingency plan in place if you get in a tight spot. You can get a loan from a bank or credit union. Or, if you have a credit card, use it to pay off your debt.

Why do kids run away?

It could be a stressful situation your child is under, a fear of getting consequences for something they did, a form of power struggle, not wanting to go to school, or a substance abuse problem. Kids idealize running away and developing a romanticized view of life on the run.

If you have a child who runs away from home, you may want to talk to him or her about how to deal with the situation. You may be able to help the child find a safe place to stay. If you are concerned about the safety of your children, talk with them about what you can do to protect them.

Where do most runaways go?

Runaways don\’t usually identify “the street” as their initial destination when they run away. The homes of friends or relatives are the most common intended destinations. They are given food, clothing, and a place to stay for the night. If the juvenile does not return home by the end of the day, they are placed in a foster home until they can be returned to the street.

In some cases, a juvenile may be placed with an adult who is willing to take them in and care for them while they wait for their family to pick them up. This is called a “re-entry program” and is often the first step in the process of re-entering society after being removed from the foster care system. Once they have been reintegrated into the community, most juveniles return to their original homes within a few months.